What is God’s Will?

So often in my life I have been caught up in the idea that when I hit a crossroads and there are two choices to make I must get it right or I won’t have God’s best.  Sometimes there is a clear path and other times there are two great choices to make.  A profound thought today for me was found in chpt 22 of TPDL  “There are many different careers(substitute choices) that could be God’s will for your life.  What God cares most about is that whatever you do, you do it in a Christlike manner”.  He’s about the WHO not the WHAT.  He is developing our character because that’s what we take into eternity with us.  Of course it’s still right and good to pray and ask for direction but instead of being at a standstill, afraid of making the wrong choice, ask Him to make you more like Him whatever you do.  Sometimes God doesn’t let us know clearly “which way is best” because BOTH are fine and He has created us with personalities and allows us to make choices.

I also love John the Baptist quote, “He must increase, I must decrease”.  Whatever I do…let this be the cry of my heart.  Whatever choice I make, let Him be exalted and seen by those He brings into my life.  Keep me from anything that would hinder Your work in me and through me.

As I sat today in this house that God has allowed us to have, listening to the sounds of pouring rain, enjoying coffee and reading, I am filled with such contentment and joy.  This house was one of those choices where it wasn’t perfectly clear what we should do.  It was a desire…but not a definite clear path.  I’m grateful He allowed it and worked out all the details for us.  My prayer then was, “God, put us wherever you can use us best.”  We now live in Trumbull with a whole new set of neighbors who don’t know You.  Lord, Please use us to reach them for you.  And thank you that you allow us to serve you at Calvary Church.  Be glorified in us and through us. 

IMG_4319

Leave a Reply

