Lisa’s Journey

I am really loving the book, “The Purpose Driven Life”.  It’s not a new book but I’ve never read it.  I only chose to read it because of Lisa’s text asking me questions about faith.  I felt compelled to share this book with her which was odd because I have never read it.  I purchased her a copy and a friend gave me one of her extra copies.  We’ve been reading it “together” and I am really enjoying it.  I will need to text her today because it’s been a week or so since I’ve heard how she is doing with it.

I read chpt. 23 today about growth.  It has some great analogies to explain some questions she may or may not have at some point.  It blessed me.  Thinking about how to change your life means changing the way you think was a great place to mediate on today.  “Behind everything you do there is a thought.  Every behavior is motivated by a belief, and every action is prompted by an attitude.”  Lord, let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart acceptable in thy sight..”  I often pray that prayer but I am asking God today to really change my thinking, behaviors, beliefs and actions as He changes me to be more like him. “Christianity is not a religion or a philosophy, but a relationship and a lifestyle.” Lord, let my choices reflect that today.

I also read John 4:1-6 today.  I had Lisa on my mind and I think that all those years ago when God had our paths cross in high school it may have been for this reason.  She is my “woman at the well” currently.  I am stretching Scripture here probably but I can’t help but think that this friendship of 27 years may be leading to something huge for Lisa.  We haven’t talked much about faith but she is very open.  I’m excited to share with her and praying that she is able to formulate the questions she has and trusting God to give me the answers.  But mostly relying on the Holy Spirit to continue calling her and working in her heart.

Lord, I HATE that I’m so rushed today and the above thoughts are rambled.  But I am asking You to continue working on Lisa.  To cleanse my heart and change my “autopilot” to reflect Christian character and choices that glorify You.  

I love you,

Dawn

Leave a Reply

