A Missing Few Days

No internet meant no devotional blogging for a few days.  In the absence, Chris had his surgery.  It was much more complicated than anticipated and took about 5 hours.  It’s all over now and the recovery is in progress.  He’s already frustrated at sitting around but I’m so grateful the worst is behind us.  At least I hope so.  We wait to see if it is cancer or not but the doctor was very confident it was not.  It will just be nice to know for sure.

The people in our lives are awesome and to see them rally around us with prayers, texts, calls and even a visit in the waiting room from Gramps and Grandma was amazing.  Thank you, Lord, for our people.

Had a profound release today while reading TPDL.  I am always feeling badly that I am not able to influence the unsaved to have a relationship with God.  I am serving in a variety of ways in the Church and I love that.  But I have often diminished that and saw it as second best.  We’ve been focusing on evangelism in church lately and that has increased my desire to reach people for Him but it has also left me feeling like I’m not fulfilling my call to the unsaved.  There are definite ways I can grow in this area.  I am thankful I am in a conversation with Lisa about that now.

For years I have had the name, “My Brother’s Keeper” in my heart.  I saw it as a counseling ministry but since I am not a qualified counselor it was a desire unfulfilled and seemed actually impossible to ever become a reality.  I am thinking now that my entire purpose is just that and I am involved in it now.  With my youth group girls, Sunday School and even my full time job.  I am serving God in the local church and this is highly valuable to Him.  Yes, I am called to share Christ and as God gives me opportunity I pray I’ll be faithful to that.  But… I am so grateful and will stop apologizing that my ministry is mainly with the saved family of God.  This is a privilege and I’m so excited to realize this today.  This is the life He gave me.  That He chose for me even before I was born.  These are the people He has put in my life.  These are my neighbors. This is my home.  This is my church.  These are my youth group girls.  These are my friends.  This is my family.  This is my job. (and when I say “my” I am very aware that none of if it actually MINE but what I mean by that is that He has given them to me to serve Him).  To God be the glory for great things He has done.

Grateful to be “My Brother’s Keeper”.  Lord, you are good.

To balance this God also had me read John 4 today.  I realize that Jesus’ ministry was teaching once he had called his disciples and then He released them to serve Him and do the same.  I also can teach those He has brought in my life and release and prepare them to serve Him well as they grow.  But Jesus also took the time away from His inner circle and met the woman at the well.  His meeting with her was intentional and even though he was tired, hungry and thirsty He was ready to teach and proclaim truth to this woman.  Lord, help me look for those “well moments” and be faithful in what You would have me say to those you bring into my life who do not yet know you.

Leave a Reply

